Player of the Year - who wins?

Player of the Year - who wins?

Last update: 31 March 2018 Categories: Premier League, Featured.

The PFA Player of the Year award is definitely one of England's most prestigious, and is often hotly contested with a number of England's finest talents up for the prize. Last year's winner saw N'Golo Kante scoop the trophy, after his instrumental role in Chelsea's resurgence to the Premier League trophy. With this year's ceremony on the horizon, debate is running rampant as to who should be this year's MVP.

There are four main candidates, one coming from each member of the clubs sitting in the Premier League's top four positions. All four teams have had a player who has been consistently world-class, and a cut above their teammates.

Harry Kane - Tottenham

While he'll miss out on the golden boot thanks to his latest injury, there can be no denial of the quality Kane possesses. The league's premier marksman has impressed yet again this season, bagging 24 goals with his Tottenham side sitting fourth, five points clear of fifth placed Chelsea. Whether or not he stays in North London much longer, bearing in mind the club don't pay premium wages in world football and the distinct lack of silverware they collect, he's their shining light that they cannot afford to lose.

Mohamed Salah - Liverpool

Nobody could have predicted the impact the Egyptian would have on this Liverpool team. Their attack has been transformed from just exciting to absolutely deadly, and Salah is the reason why. 28 goals in his first season, a Liverpool record, has helped fire his side to third place and the quarter-finals of the Champions League. His quality would've surprised even Jurgen Klopp, and has impressed everyone the world-over. Very few could feel aggrieved if Salah scoops the award this year.

David de Gea - Manchester United

Is there another goalkeeper that bails his team out as much as David de Gea? The question is rhetorical, because the answer is certainly no. United boast the league's second-best defensive record, which is impressive considering the best defender has been injured for the majority of the year, and they play two ageing wingers at full-back. The reason for this is the Spanish wall that stands behind them. The world's best goalkeeper, without question.

Kevin de Bruyne - Manchester City

What more can be said about the Belgian? A midfield genius capable of unlocking any defence in the world with consummate ease. He's got as good a passing range as anyone in football today, and could give the Premier League greats of Gerrard, Scholes et al a run for their money. He's been the best player in the best team this season, and is the main man behind their inevitable title success.

Player of the Year Prediction - Kevin de Bruyne.

Do you agree with this prediction? Let us know in the comments below!